



Call for applicants

7th International Summer School of Neuroengineering "Massimo Grattarola"

Neurotechnologies and Computational Methods to Interact with the Brain

The 7th International Summer School of Neuroengineering "Massimo Grattarola" aims to introduce computational and technological methods to researchers of different backgrounds (life sciences, physics, engineering) to interact with the brain. The first two days will deal with brain dynamics giving particular emphasis to the role of the connectivity and computational models of the brain at different level of abstraction, as well as hardware and software platforms to simulate such dynamics. During the 3rd day, the recent advancements for increasing the quality of the recordings and for delivering efficient stimulating protocols will be discussed. Finally, the last day will provide examples of neuroengineering paradigms for designing new neuroprostheses to interact with the brain and their clinical applications to increase the quality of life.

A practical experimental session using high-density EEG set-up and multi-electrode arrays for *in vitro/in vivo* applications is foreseen.

Dates: 18th-22nd June 2018 **Location**: Genova (Italy)

Registration: Registrations will open during the first week of March. Participation is limited to 60

attendees (students, post-docs, ...).

Registration fee: 500 Euros

Website: www.neuroengineering.eu

Info: info@neuroengineering.unige.net

paolo.massobrio@unige.it

Poster session: Students attending the school will have the opportunity to present their results in a two-days poster session.

Confirmed speakers: Miguel Nicolelis (Duke University), Shimon Marom (Technion Israel Institute of Technology), Matias Palva (Univ. Helsinki), Andreas Hierlemann (ETH), Tim Harris (Janelia Research Campus), Lucilla de Arcangelis (Univ. of Campania), Ulrich Egert (Bernstein Center Freiburg), Annalisa Bonfiglio (Univ. Cagliari), Sylvie Renaud (Bordeaux INP), Valentina Pasquale (Italian Institute of Technology), Michele Giugliano (Univ. Antwerp), Michele Migliore (CNR), Silvia Casarotto (Univ. Milano), Ioannis Isaias (Univ. Wurzburg), Michela Chiappalone (Italian Institute of Technology), Stanisa Raspopovic (ETH).