The snapshots are generated automatically from SVN and are not kept around: old ones are automatically deleted. So, even if I were to check out and old version and build it, it wouldn't stay up for very long.
OK, I see. Can you please add a note to that effect somewhere on PyPI here https://pypi.python.org/pypi/setuptools ?
0.6c12dev-r88846 must've been there for at least 6 months because this is when I frozen the version and I didn't do it because I needed this particular one - it got pulled automatically and probably was the latest one at that time. I didn't actually realize old versions would be deleted at all.
many thanks again,