<div dir="ltr"><div class="gmail_extra"><br><div class="gmail_quote">On Mon, Sep 14, 2015 at 4:54 PM, Random832 <span dir="ltr"><<a href="mailto:random832@fastmail.com" target="_blank">random832@fastmail.com</a>></span> wrote:<br><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0px 0px 0px 0.8ex;border-left-width:1px;border-left-color:rgb(204,204,204);border-left-style:solid;padding-left:1ex"><div id=":1ei" class="" style="overflow:hidden">I'm going to assume that the interpretations that led to your results<br>
are:<br>
a = 2002-04-07 01:40:00 -0500 = 2002-04-07 06:40:00 Z<br>
b = 2002-04-07 02:20:00 -0400 = 2002-04-07 06:20:00 Z<br></div></blockquote><div><br></div><div>Looks right:</div><div><br></div><div><div>>>> print(a)</div><div>2002-04-07 01:40:00-05:00</div><div><div>>>> print(a.astimezone(UTC))</div><div>2002-04-07 06:40:00+00:00</div></div><div>>>> print(b)</div><div>2002-04-07 02:20:00-04:00</div><div>>>> print(b.astimezone(UTC))</div><div>2002-04-07 06:20:00+00:00</div></div><div> </div><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0px 0px 0px 0.8ex;border-left-width:1px;border-left-color:rgb(204,204,204);border-left-style:solid;padding-left:1ex"><div id=":1ei" class="" style="overflow:hidden">
I don't think this is a reasonable value for b.astimezone(UTC) to have.</div></blockquote></div><div class="gmail_extra"><br></div>You would have to go back in time to 2002-2003 and argue with Tim and Guido about that.  Trust me - you would loose.   Arguing about it today is even more futile.<br><br></div></div>