[Mailman-Users] Recent AOL thread

John Fleming john at wa9als.com
Thu Oct 21 12:56:55 CEST 2004

> > I don't think so, Mark.  This is an "announce-only" list, and the sender
> > non-US, I think on a dialup.  Let's say the sender's IP or ISP is on the
> > blacklist.  Even though the list mail is finally coming from my server,
> > couldn't the presence of his IP or ISP in the message headers be enough
> > trigger the blacklist?  - john
> No.  The message from AOL is that the IP address of the mail server
> your list is being sent from is blacklisted, not the sender of the
> message.  If you're on shared hosting, not a dedicated server, you
> need to talk to your webhost and find out if they're on AOL's feedback
> loop and if they're actively nuking spammers.

That's not quite right, I don't think, because if the sender uses
Squirrelmail on my server, his messages are accepted at places where they
are otherwise blocked.  Mine is a personal sever.  I am a newbie, but I'm
using Postfix/Debian and it is not an open relay.  I personally have not had
any problems being blocked anywhere, I've used dnsbl lookups and been OK,
and have used available open-relay tests and been OK.  We only have problems
when my non-US friend sends mail to the list (or to certain domains that
apparently have him or his ISP blocked).  This sender is a "good guy" - a
missionary that is only sending mail to his supporters - nothing
unsolicited.  His only problems are with AOL and one non-US domain.  Thanks
any other comments.  - john

More information about the Mailman-Users mailing list