[Mailman-Users] How to stop spam emails

Mark Sapiro mark at msapiro.net
Mon Dec 10 06:58:31 CET 2007

Cyndi Norwitz wrote:
>   Does list mail (received posts) have any SpamAssassin headers, e.g.
>   X-Spam-Status:, X-Spam-Flag:, X-Spam-Level:.
>Not taht I can see.  Here's a sample header from a spam attempted post:
>Received: from b.mx.sonic.net (b.mx.sonic.net [])
>	  by listman.sonic.net (8.13.8.Beta0-Sonic/8.13.7) with ESMTP id
>	  lB56QfhY031208
>	  for <immune at listman.sonic.net>; Tue, 4 Dec 2007 22:26:41
>	  -0800
>Received: from fedmail.FEDMAIL ( [])
>	  by b.mx.sonic.net (8.13.8.Beta0-Sonic/8.13.7) with ESMTP id
>	  lB56Qchx002626
>	  for <immune at sonic.net>; Tue, 4 Dec 2007 22:26:41 -0800
>Message-Id: <200712050626.lB56Qchx002626 at b.mx.sonic.net>
>Received: from fedmail ( []) by
>	  fedmail.FEDMAIL with SMTP (Microsoft Exchange Internet Mail
>	  Service Version 5.5.2653.13)
>	  id YFVARF1L; Wed, 5 Dec 2007 01:10:37 -0500
>Date: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 01:10:36 -0500
>From: Prime Vendor<fedmail at fedmail.prime-vendor.com>
>Sender: fedmail at fedmail.prime-vendor.com
>Reply-to: fedmail at fedmail.prime-vendor.com
>Subject: Hello JAMES FELDMAN
>To: immune at sonic.net
>X-Sonic-SB-IP-RBLs: IP RBLs .

Well, that last one seems to say that something at sonic thinks the
sending IP is in a blacklist, or maybe that blacklists were checked
and the IP wasn't found.

You'd probably have to ask sonic what the possible headers are and what
they mean.

Mark Sapiro <mark at msapiro.net>        The highway is for gamblers,
San Francisco Bay Area, California    better use your sense - B. Dylan

More information about the Mailman-Users mailing list