[Mailman-Users] Emails from yahoo members, are getting rejected by yahoo, "Service Unavailable".

Conrad G T Yoder conrad at yoders.org
Wed Apr 16 03:50:55 CEST 2014

On Apr 15, 2014, at 2:11 PM, Jim Popovitch <jimpop at gmail.com> wrote:

> On Tue, Apr 15, 2014 at 2:05 PM, Lindsay Haisley <fmouse at fmp.com> wrote:
>> On Tue, 2014-04-15 at 12:38 -0400, Jim Popovitch wrote:
>>> Just to be clear, all those domains (other than yahoo.com) will bounce
>>> email to you if your list sends out an email from a yahoo.com
>>> subscriber.  It's not the case that you need to prevent all those
>>> other domains (AOL/MSN/etc) from posting, just don't allow yahoo.com
>>> addresses to post to the list.
>> So just to be clear, putting a damper on this at this point requires
>> _only_ that posts from yahoo.com be blocked from posting to a list.  Is
>> this correct?  This can be done by selectively unsubscribing (or
>> moderating) current yahoo.com users and adding "^.*@yahoo\.com" to the
>> ban_list of addresses banned from membership going forward.  Should some
>> other ESP start publishing advisory DMARC records then said ESP would
>> need to be added to the ban_list as well.
>> Am I correct in this?
> You don't need to ban yahoo members, you just most likely don't want
> them posting.
> As of right now, today, you should prevent yahoo.com addrs from
> posting to your lists.  Of course that could all change tomorrow if
> Hotmail published a dmarc p=reject record.  However, given the yahoo
> fallout, I think it will be a while before we see anymore of this
> kinds of shenanigans.  I'm still predicting that yahoo pulls their
> dmarc record (unless of course they are getting out of the end-user
> email biz)

So it really doesn’t affect domain email hosted by Yahoo such as att.net, sbcglobal.net, ymail.com, etc?  Yahoo has not added a dmarc p=reject record for email from these domains? 


The truth shall make you free.

More information about the Mailman-Users mailing list