[Mailman-Users] Advantages

Carl Zwanzig cpz at tuunq.com
Mon Dec 8 19:25:55 CET 2014

On 12/8/2014 10:01 AM, Lindsay Haisley wrote:
> On Mon, 2014-12-08 at 09:36 -0800, Carl Zwanzig wrote:

>> you'd think so, but the sender is on well.com; all of the yahoo/hotmail/etc
>> addresses bounced and all the others were delivered. Circumstances being
>> what they are, it's not worth my time to figure this out, only need it for a
>> couple more weeks and a few more messages.
> Well, this is a matter of concern beyond your list,

I'm not sure it really is. The set of facts is quite small and 
untrustworthy. As I said, I'm not willing to do any more research on the 
matter at this time.

> well.com doesn't advertise a DMARC policy, so why would this be?  Are we
> looking at something new here?  A lot of us run announcement lists, or
> do so for our customers.  Can we expect rejections from these ESPs too?
> Is well.com blacklisted in some other way?  Or do yahoo/hotmail/etc
> filter in some other way that might bite even a legit CC or BCC list?

It's entirely possible that the couple of people reporting the problem are 
confused, maybe one of them -was- sending from a yahoo account and not from 
the well one. I know that I've got entries in the mailman bounces log and 
rejections in postfix's log, but haven't matched original senders to 
rejections. This group of people will probably have 4 or 5 more messages 
over the next couple of weeks, then the purpose of the list goes away.

(Please don't ask me questions about this, the answer would probably be a 
tarball of the logs. I'm sorry I even brought it up.)


More information about the Mailman-Users mailing list