[Python-bugs-list] [ python-Bugs-511055 ] bdist_wininst fails on StandaloneZODB
noreply@sourceforge.net
noreply@sourceforge.net
Thu, 31 Jan 2002 12:48:59 -0800
Bugs item #511055, was opened at 2002-01-30 21:41
You can respond by visiting:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=511055&group_id=5470
Category: Distutils
Group: Python 2.2
Status: Open
Resolution: Invalid
Priority: 5
Submitted By: Tim Peters (tim_one)
Assigned to: Thomas Heller (theller)
Summary: bdist_wininst fails on StandaloneZODB
Initial Comment:
I don't know what I'm doing (never tried anything like
this before), so scream if this is stupid. From a
vanilla CVS checkout of Zope Corp's StandaloneZODB, I
tried (this is with Python 2.2 final):
\python22\python setup.py bdist_wininst
This was on Win98SE, with MSVC 6 installed. It seemed
to run fine for awhile, but eventually barfed. Here's
the tail end:
...
LIB\BTrees
copying build\lib.win32-2.2\BTrees\OIBTree.pyc ->
build\bdist.win32\wininst\PLATLIB\BTrees
warning: install: modules installed
to 'build\bdist.win32\wininst\PLATLIB\', which is not
in Python's module search path (sys.path) -- you'll
have to change the search path yourself
changing into 'build\bdist.win32\wininst'
zip -rq c:\windows\TEMP\~-1370033-3.zip .
creating 'c:\windows\TEMP\~-1370033-3.zip' and
adding '.' to it
changing back to 'C:\Code\StandaloneZODB'
creating dist\BTrees-?.win32-py2.2.exe
error: dist\BTrees-?.win32-py2.2.exe: No such file or
directory
C:\Code\StandaloneZODB>
FYI, "setup.py install" and "setup.py build" work fine
from this directory.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
>Comment By: Tim Peters (tim_one)
Date: 2002-01-31 12:48
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=31435
I wouldn't bother, Thomas. All OSes have *some* disallowed
characters (e.g., the platform path separator character is
always disallowed, else a path would be ambiguous). The
problem here was using "?" instead of the universally
recognized <wink> "XXX" to mean "this needs more
attention", and that quirk is unlikely to be common.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Thomas Heller (theller)
Date: 2002-01-31 12:27
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=11105
Maybe the right branch of StandaloneZODB fixes this
particular problem, the branch did at least reproduce the
problem;-)
The question is: should distutils check if the version
number contains characters disallowed in filenames (on
windows, are there any for *nix or Mac?), and construct a
filename without embedded version number in these cases?
I have reopened the bug, please comment.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Barry Warsaw (bwarsaw)
Date: 2002-01-31 11:17
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=12800
I don't think you're using the right cvs branch on your
checkout. You should be using StandaloneZODB-1_0-branch.
On that branch, setup.py will have a revision 1.9.4.4 which
should have the correct values.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Thomas Heller (theller)
Date: 2002-01-31 07:54
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=11105
Ok, I found it.
Yup, I was right. The distutils-bug *is* fixed, here's the
patch for Standalone's setup.py:
RCS file: /cvs-repository/StandaloneZODB/setup.py,v
retrieving revision 1.10
diff -c -r1.10 setup.py
*** setup.py 21 Jan 2002 16:47:01 -0000 1.10
--- setup.py 31 Jan 2002 15:51:00 -0000
***************
*** 115,121 ****
)
setup(name="BTrees",
! version="?",
packages=["BTrees", "BTrees.tests"],
ext_modules = [oob, oib, iib, iob],
author = zope_corp,
--- 115,121 ----
)
setup(name="BTrees",
! version="XXX",
packages=["BTrees", "BTrees.tests"],
ext_modules = [oob, oib, iib, iob],
author = zope_corp,
I'll mark the bug as invalid.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Thomas Heller (theller)
Date: 2002-01-31 07:46
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=11105
I thought this bug was fixed before 2.2 final...
Where can I check out StandaloneZODB so that I can look
into it?
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: M.-A. Lemburg (lemburg)
Date: 2002-01-31 01:32
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=38388
This is a distutils sort of bug: if you don't specify a package
version number, distutils uses '?' instead. Unfortunately,
some OSes don't handle '?' in filenames too well and this
is probably what you are seeing here.
The fix is simple: define a version number in setup.py.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
You can respond by visiting:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=511055&group_id=5470