[ python-Bugs-1086854 ] "slots" member variable in object.h confuses Qt moc utility
SourceForge.net
noreply at sourceforge.net
Fri Sep 30 17:38:50 CEST 2005
Bugs item #1086854, was opened at 2004-12-17 04:07
Message generated for change (Comment added) made by jfriesne
You can respond by visiting:
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=1086854&group_id=5470
Please note that this message will contain a full copy of the comment thread,
including the initial issue submission, for this request,
not just the latest update.
Category: Build
Group: Platform-specific
Status: Open
Resolution: None
Priority: 5
Submitted By: Jeremy Friesner (jfriesne)
Assigned to: Martin v. Löwis (loewis)
Summary: "slots" member variable in object.h confuses Qt moc utility
Initial Comment:
This isn't really a Python bug per se, but it's easy to fix so I'm
filing a bug report anyway. The problem is with the line
PyObject *name, *slots;
in the definition of struct _heaptypeobject at line 343 of
Include/object.h. I'm embedding Python into my app that uses
the TrollTech Qt GUI, and Qt has a preprocessor program
named "moc" that looks for certain non-standard keywords.
One of these keywords is the word "slots"... so having a
member variable named "slots" in Include/object.h confuses
moc and causes my app to have a build error. I was able to
fix the problem by renaming the "slots" member variable to
"xslots" in the Python source, but it would be nicer if it was
renamed in the official Python distribution so that the problem
doesn't come up for the next guy.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
>Comment By: Jeremy Friesner (jfriesne)
Date: 2005-09-30 15:38
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=383828
On second thought, I believe mwh is right; most of those
changes are unnecessary. (I made the changes a long time
ago, so when I grepped for them the other day the memory for
their motivation wasn't fresh). The Python .c files aren't
fed to moc, so references to 'signals' and 'slots' in the .c
files should compile okay. It's just the references to
those identifiers in the Python .h files that cause a
problem, if the .h files are #included in a Qt-using C++
program, after #including a Qt header. So I think probably
just the original three changes are sufficient.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Michael Hudson (mwh)
Date: 2005-09-30 08:44
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=6656
I'm not particularly convinced that this is a great idea. Python uses 'new'
and 'class' as C identifiers which mean you can't compile it as C++ -- but
Python isn't written in C++, so this is fine. Similarly, Python isn't designed
to be fed to moc -- so why feed it to moc?
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Reinhold Birkenfeld (birkenfeld)
Date: 2005-09-29 20:50
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=1188172
Ah, okay. However, I can't decide whether this will be done,
assigning to Martin for this case.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Jeremy Friesner (jfriesne)
Date: 2005-09-29 20:48
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=383828
Unfortunately, yes, When compiling with Qt, the words "signals"
and "slots" become essentially reserved keywords, and any use of
them as variable names causes a compile error.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Reinhold Birkenfeld (birkenfeld)
Date: 2005-09-29 20:37
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=1188172
Okay. Most of your replacements are function parameters or
function local variables, do they have to be replaced too?
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Jeremy Friesner (jfriesne)
Date: 2005-09-28 16:59
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=383828
Here is a file containing grep output showing all the lines
where I changed 'slots' to 'xslots' in my codebase:
http://www.lcscanada.com/jaf/xslots.zip
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment By: Reinhold Birkenfeld (birkenfeld)
Date: 2005-09-28 13:02
Message:
Logged In: YES
user_id=1188172
I can find 3 occurences in typeobject.c where the variable
would have to be renamed. Can you find any other?
----------------------------------------------------------------------
You can respond by visiting:
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=1086854&group_id=5470
More information about the Python-bugs-list
mailing list