[Mailman-Users] Recent AOL thread

texas critter texascritter at gmail.com
Wed Oct 20 21:38:33 CEST 2004

On Wed, 20 Oct 2004 12:04:00 -0500, John Fleming <john at wa9als.com> wrote:
> > There is no "specific" answer to this problem. Your IP address (the one
> > list mail is coming from) is being blocked by AOL. The link in the
> > above error message provides some information as does FAQ article 3.42.
> I don't think so, Mark.  This is an "announce-only" list, and the sender is
> non-US, I think on a dialup.  Let's say the sender's IP or ISP is on the
> blacklist.  Even though the list mail is finally coming from my server,
> couldn't the presence of his IP or ISP in the message headers be enough to
> trigger the blacklist?  - john

No.  The message from AOL is that the IP address of the mail server
your list is being sent from is blacklisted, not the sender of the
message.  If you're on shared hosting, not a dedicated server, you
need to talk to your webhost and find out if they're on AOL's feedback
loop and if they're actively nuking spammers.

Also finding out the mail server IP address and checking it at
openrbl.org and news.admin.net-abuse.* at Google Groups will help you
find out if your webhost is hosting spammers and getting your list
mail because of it.

texas critter

Get a FREE iPod! http://alice.ttlg.net/freeipod.html
Glenfinnan Web Hosting: http://www.glenfinnan.net/
EL-M FAQ: http://www.emaillist-managers.com/

More information about the Mailman-Users mailing list