[Mailman-Users] Recent AOL thread

Brad Knowles brad at stop.mail-abuse.org
Wed Oct 20 22:22:41 CEST 2004

At 2:38 PM -0500 2004-10-20, texas critter wrote:

>  No.  The message from AOL is that the IP address of the mail server
>  your list is being sent from is blacklisted, not the sender of the
>  message.

	That assumes that AOL is giving you the correct error message for 
the particular problem they actually detected.  Having worked the 
other side of that particular fence, I can tell you that this is not 
necessarily a valid assumption.

>            If you're on shared hosting, not a dedicated server, you
>  need to talk to your webhost and find out if they're on AOL's feedback
>  loop and if they're actively nuking spammers.
>  Also finding out the mail server IP address and checking it at
>  openrbl.org and news.admin.net-abuse.* at Google Groups will help you
>  find out if your webhost is hosting spammers and getting your list
>  mail because of it.

	These are good things to do no matter what, regardless of whether 
or not AOL is accurately giving you the appropriate error message for 
the problem they have detected.

Brad Knowles, <brad at stop.mail-abuse.org>

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little
temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety."

     -- Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), reply of the Pennsylvania
     Assembly to the Governor, November 11, 1755

   SAGE member since 1995.  See <http://www.sage.org/> for more info.

More information about the Mailman-Users mailing list